What Does It Take To Be A Flight Attendant?

The first requirement for the profession is to take the flight attendant course at a certified school. The course requires that the student has completed high school and completed 18 years. Currently, several schools throughout the world offer the course in the face-to-face and semi-face-to-face modes when you want to apply for flight attendant (สมัคร แอร์โฮสเตส which is the term in Thai).

The course is divided into four modules:

  • Aircraft General Knowledge;
  • Regulation of the Aeronaut Profession;
  • First Aid and Health;
  • Emergency, Survival, and Security.

Throughout the training, the student will need to undergo medical examinations that prove his physical and psychological capacity to exercise the profession. The document that attests to this capacity is the Aeronautical Medical Certificate (CMA). 

After completing the theoretical course when you want to apply for flight attendant (สมัคร แอร์โฮสเตส which is the term in Thai) and with the CMA in hand, it is time to do the training in the jungle. Aspiring commissioners are subjected to situations similar to an emergency landing in the forest and at sea. Survival techniques learned in the theoretical course, such as first aid, searching for water and food, setting up a shelter, lighting a fire, and identifying poisonous animals and poisonous plants, will be put into practice. Fire extinguishing techniques will also be practiced.

Training can last between 24 and 48 hours depending on the school and requires a lot of physical and emotional resistance. This stage is generally not included in the theoretical course fee.

Once the jungle experience is complete and you pass the school’s theoretical test, you will be ready to send your curriculum.

Upon approval, you will receive the Certificate of Theoretical Knowledge (CCT), which will finally make you eligible to apply for a flight attendant position with national airlines. If the candidate is not approved in one or two subjects, he can retake the tests of the subject in which he failed. Those who pass only one will have to retake the four tests. There is no limit to the number of attempts, but the test fee will be charged on all of them.